Getting charged with driving under the influence (DUI) in Indiana is one of the worst things that can happen to a driver. Having any amount of alcohol in your system when stopped can result in serious penalties, but our Fort Wayne DUI attorneys detail aggravating factors that can make the situation even more severe.
Indiana DUI statistics show that an average of more than 100 people are killed in car accidents due to impaired driving each year. Alcohol is a contributing factor in nearly 15% of all motor vehicle crashes throughout the state. As a result, law enforcement is aggressive in apprehending offenders and prosecutors fight to make charges stick. Penalties for violations may include heavy fines, loss of your driver’s license, mandatory community service and attendance at alcohol education classes, and in some cases, a mandatory minimum jail sentence.
As bad as this is, there are certain situations in which DUI charges in Fort Wayne are even more severe. Aggravating factors that increase the penalties you face include:
Under the Indiana Code (IC 9-30-5), driving under the influence is referred to as Operating A Motor Vehicle While Intoxicated (OWI). A first offense is considered a Class C misdemeanor, with penalties that include probation, a $500 fine, up to 60 days in jail, and a 180 day driver’s license suspension. These penalties increase based on aggravating factors involved:
Being charged with DUI, or Operating While Intoxicated (OWI) in Indiana, is a serious matter. To protect yourself against the penalties associated with a conviction, call or contact The Bellinger Law Office online and request a consultation with our Fort Wayne DUI attorneys today.