DUI Lawyers Near Me
Being pulled over for driving under the influence is a serious matter, and the truth of the situation is that the officer who stops you does not need a great deal of evidence – or probable cause – to arrest you. If he or she says you slurred your words or appeared confused, it might be enough, and if he or she has a breathalyzer reading that is above the legal limit, it is more than enough. If this is the unfortunate position you find yourself in, call an experienced DUI lawyer near you as soon as it is possible for you to do so.
It’s important to note that when you get behind the wheel of your vehicle, you provide the State of Indiana with the implied consent they need to give you a breathalyzer test (or another kind of chemical test) to measure your blood alcohol concentration (BAC). While you can refuse such a test, it is not going to do you any favors. In fact, a refusal (with no prior DUI conviction) can earn you a year-long driver’s license suspension, and a refusal after a prior conviction can earn you two.
Indiana Takes DUI Offenses Very Seriously
In the State of Indiana, a conviction for DUI/OWI will stay on your record permanently. While most such charges are misdemeanors, a DUI can be elevated to a felony if you have a prior conviction on your record within the previous five years. Consider the following:
- For a first DUI offense, you face up to 60 days in jail for a BAC that is over the limit (0.08 percent) and up to one year in jail for a BAC that is above 0.15 percent (nearly twice the legal limit).
- For a first DUI offense, you face up to $500 fines for a BAC that is over the limit and up to $5,000 in fines for a BAC that is above 0.15 percent.
- For a first DUI offense, you face an average license suspension of about 180 days, which can be increased to a year if you refused to take a breath test when you were arrested.
- For a first offense, you may be required to employ an ignition interlock device (IID) for up to 60 days for a BAC that is over the limit and for up to 1 year for a BAC that is above 0.15 percent.
If your charge is upped to felony status due to a prior conviction in the preceding 5 years, you’ll be looking at from 6 months to two and a half years behind bars and at fines of up to $10,000.
Reach out to a DUI Lawyer Near Me for the Legal Guidance You Need
Robert Bellinger at The Bellinger Law Office in Fort Wayne, Indiana, is a focused DUI defense attorney who takes considerable pride in helping clients like you resolve their cases favorably. We’re on your side, so please don’t hesitate to contact us for more information today.