If your driver’s license has been suspended in Indiana, you will need to take a number of steps in order to have your driver’s license reinstated. Those steps will depend in part on the reason that your driver’s license was suspended in the first place. There are a number of violations that can result in your license being suspended, including driving without valid insurance in Indiana, being convicted of a DUI/OWI in Indiana, and other traffic violations.
When you are eligible to have your driver’s license reinstated, you may be wondering if you will need to pay your insurance fees first before the Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) will reinstate your license. In short, the answer is yes, you will need to pay insurance fees before you get your license reinstated in addition to other fees. The specifics, however, will depend upon the circumstances of your case.
If your driver’s license has been suspended, you will most likely be required to pay for something known as SR-22 insurance coverage, which provides you with an SR-22 certificate or an SR-22 liability endorsement. The BMV describes this certificate as proof of future financial responsibility, and it is evidence that you have sufficient liability insurance to cover damages if you are responsible for an accident in the future. For most types of driver’s license suspensions in Indiana, an SR-22 certificate is necessary to have before the BMV will reinstate your driver’s license.
You should anticipate that SR-22 coverage will cost more than your regular auto insurance premium. You will have to pay an SR-22 filing fee and the rate of the SR-22 certificate. Depending upon the specific type of violation that resulted in your license suspension and whether or not you have previous convictions on your record, you will have to show proof of an SR-22 certificate for a specific number of years. For example, in Indiana, a first offense for driving without insurance will result in a license suspension for 90 days, and you will need an SR-22 certificate for three years in order to have your license reinstated. For some subsequent offenses, or for more serious offenses, you may be required to show proof of an SR-22 certificate for five years or more.
How much does the SR-22 certificate cost? In addition to the filing fees, Value Penguin suggests that SR-22 insurance in Indiana can range from about $500 to $3,000 per year.
In addition to the SR-22 certificate, you may also be required to pay the following fees and to submit the following forms:
The specific forms you will need to submit and the fees that you will need to pay will depend upon your circumstances, and you should seek advice from a Fort Wayne license reinstatement attorney. It is important to keep in mind that any required fees or forms must all be paid or provided before your license can get reinstated. Contact The Bellinger Law Office today for assistance.