You may or may not know it, but as of July 1st, Indiana law prohibits anyone under the age of 21 from using any sort of mobile device while driving a vehicle. This surprisingly even includes any sort of hands-free devices. If an underage driver needs to use their GPS system or call a friend, they must now pull over completely in order to avoid getting a ticket.
This new law does not, however, apply to anyone to turned 18 before July 1st.
While texting while driving has been illegal since 2011, Indiana is making it a point to even further prevent any distracted driving.
This new House Bill requires any driver in the left lane to change lanes if there is another car that is approaching and attempting to go faster. If you break this law, it is considered a Class C infraction, which could result in as much as a $500 fine,
Many people have been wary about this new law, noting that is seems to be encouraging drivers to speed in the left lane. This however, is not the case. The reason for this new law is to encourage a much safer flow of traffic and decrease vehicle accidents.
Any driver who just got their license and who is under the age of 21 is not allowed to drive from 10:00pm until 5:00am for the first 180 days of getting their license. They also are only allowed to drive with family members
Also, do take note that any driver under the age of 18 also cannot drive between 11:00pm and 5:00am. This applies even after the first initial 180 days.
Traffic violation fines and points on a license can be very frustrating when they lead to higher insurance rates. Paying for a ticket is admitting that you are guilty, and when you agree to pay the ticket you can’t go back and fight against it later. If you have any questions about any traffic violations, whether it be a result of the new Indiana laws or not, we are here to help. Contact our Fort Wayne traffic attorney at 260-428-2214 or click here.
How did we do?
Note: Your review may be shared publicly.